Links

The Best Way to Cook Corn

In Talking on August 19, 2011 by Edelweiss Tagged: ,

Every year as we get to the end of the summer, I start to hear the clock ticking and then begin to freak out:

I NEED TO MAXIMIZE MY WINDOW OF OPPORTUNITY TO EAT FRESH CORN ON THE COB.

Seriously, I freak out and then I whine about it. I’m not proud.

It’s taken me until this summer to perfect my corn on the cob cooking skills, but I believe I’ve discovered the key. So now I will share it with you.

Corn on the Rooftop Garden at my work. Best.Place.Ever.

The basic premise is you leave the corn on the husk and grill it.

Steps:

  1. Start the grill on high
  2. Clean off the top of the husks (the brown stringy hair)
  3. Leave it on a side for 5 minutes, then rotate
  4. Repeat 4 times – Grills can cook unevenly, so keep an eye out, you may need to switch the ears positions’ on the grill
  5. Remove from grill and let sit in husks for at least 5 minutes – they will be very hot, feel free to wait up to half an hour, the ear stays quite warm inside the husk
  6. Shuck
  7. Season*
  8. Enjoy!

Tips:

The husks will look very burnt, starting with the first time you turn them. That's a good thing!

 

A tool like tongs are your best friend to rotate the corn and remove it from the grill.

*In addition to butter/margarine, I like to add a little bit of hot sauce, one that’s a little sweet. You can use Sriracha or Cholula if you usually have those around. I’ve found these two hot sauces to be particularly excellent with corn:

Georgia Peach Hot Sauce

Texas Champagne Hot Sauce

Perfectly cooked ear - juicy and a bit of a carmelized crisp

Leave a Reply

