Links

mmm…Turkey Burgers!

In Talking on August 10, 2011 by Edelweiss Tagged: , ,

I’m saying eff the ground turkey recall and making turkey burgers tonight (and grilled corn!)!

I am very excited.

Walrus resisted the idea of turkey burgers for awhile until I finally convinced him to let me make them. He is now on the light, burgery deliciousness bandwagon with me.

Here’s the recipe I converted him with (although now we make many different styles). Tonight will be similar to this, but I’m noting some variations in italics.

Recipe Basics:

In addition to the burgers, you’ll also want to plan ahead for topping and garnishes.

Ingredients

Texas Turkey Burgers

1 pound ground turkey
1/2 cup bbq sauce (I use Sweet Baby Ray’s, but I make my own sauce too sometimes – I suggest a brown sugar or syrup flavored bbq)
small can of Old El Paso chopped green chiles (I think its about 4 oz)
a handful of jar jalapenos, – chop em up!
Monteray Jack Cheese (but tonight I’m using sharp white cheddar)
Topping it off:
Garnishes (to taste)

Tonight I’m slicing up  an avocado and adding that
Red leaf lettuce
Tomato
Fresh whole wheat rolls from the Bakery are my favorite bread with this, but that’s open to your preference

Chipotle Mayo

3/4 cup mayo
2 tbsp of cholula hot sauce (or to taste)
1 1/2 tsp lime juice
1 tbsp cilantro
1 tsp cayenne

Tips

Texas Turkey Burgers

You can grill these, but I broil:
Set oven to broil
Set patties on rack or cookie sheet
Broil for about 7 minutes and flip
Broil for about another 7 or until almost done
A minute before it’s done, add the cheese, broil until cheese is melted
Enjoy!

Chipotle Mayo

Mix together and chill!

I’ll add pics tonight (or tomorrow, or eventually)

4 Responses to “mmm…Turkey Burgers!”

  1. Thanks for this. I just bought some ground turkey yesterday, knowing that it is a healther option, but wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it.

    • Oh yay! I hope you like it.

      If you want to go simpler your first time, you can just mix in some garlic, salt and pepper and serve it with sauteed spinach and feta. But I do like the Texas version better.

  2. turkey burgers with some pickle and hamburger bun… i am going to make it tonight.. thanks for the idea….

Leave a Reply

