Links

30 Day Challenge: Make Things Pretty: Day 9

In Talking on August 10, 2011 by Edelweiss Tagged: ,

Every day for the next 30 days I’ll spend at least 30 minutes making something prettier (or admiring beauty and therefore making my mind pretty!).

Day 9 (last night) Picked up an abandoned embroidery project that might turn into a pillowcase.

Start Time – 9:30pm

End Time– 10:00pm

I’m not gonna lie. The 30 Day Challenge is definitely starting to feel like homework. I may have stomped around the house, pulled out my embroidery and pouted for awhile.

I'm pouting at the other end of my camera looking at my decidedly unpretty embroidery container.

And, like the way I tackle things, this is a little bit my fault. I went way over 30 minutes on a lot of my tasks earlier when I was super enthusiastic, and now it feels like each day needs to be a mountain of work. It’s like the gym. I need to remember this is about building a habit, so doing the bare minimum each day will help me power through the hump.

And this was the perfect project to, begrudgingly, remind me of that. I have a gym bag filled with lonely half-started crafts. One of them was an embroidery piece that I let sit so long, the edges have started to fray.

So I set to work securing the hem. I stopped right at 30 minutes, but I met my goal.

I will keep truckin’.

 

Leave a Reply

