Links

30 Day Challenge: Make Things Pretty: Day 7

In Talking on August 8, 2011 by Edelweiss Tagged: , , , ,

Every day for the next 30 days I’ll spend at least 30 minutes making something prettier (or admiring beauty and therefore making my mind pretty!).

Day 7 (yesterday) Organized pictures

Start Time – 11:30am

End Time– 2:00pm

I had a slew of pictures sitting on folders on my laptop as I’ve cleaned off cameras and cellphones, but I’ve never sorted them to pull out the good ones and put them in any context that will make sense when I look back on them years from now.

This includes more than 150 pictures from my trip to Hawaii in 2007.

and a few gems from 2004:

But most of the pictures were from 2o07-2010. While some of the big trips from that time period I’ve already sorted, that was a significant period of change for me. And nothing tells the story better than pictures.

In addition to many of my friends getting married, it was when Walrus and I started dating seriously, I had two different jobs, it was my last year as a single lady in New York:

It was when I started traveling to Bethlehem to see Walrus:

I fell in love with my niece:

I said goodbye to New York:

I moved to Philly and Jeb moved in with Walrus:

I fell in love with Walrus’ nieces and my nephew:

(In other words, entire people were created – they are people now that I’ll know for the rest of my life! That baby up there? The product of a wedding that hadn’t even happened yet in 2007. Crazy life changes.)

Walrus and I moved in together:

and we got Bluto:

All of this makes me regret the every day things I didn’t take pictures of. Like our back deck in our first house in Philly that we had many lovely dinners on. It’s like photos make the memories more real, I wish I could take a snapshot of the things I see in my head.

One last shot to say goodbye, a touch of Narnia:

Leave a Reply

